Home > Blogroll, Personal, social, Society, Whatever > What does RSVP stand for?

What does RSVP stand for?

November 23, 2006 Leave a comment Go to comments

Let’s Clear Up the Confusion

I hope that this week’s tip will benefit hosts and guests alike, because there seems to be a lot of confusion about the meaning of the above term.

Lack of RSVP’s – A Growing Problem

I hear more and more often, and have found in my personal experience, that hosts often do not receive firm indications whether guests plan to attend their parties, even if R.S.V.P. is clearly printed on the invitation. This could mean either one of two things. First it could mean that rudeness is a growing trend in our society. Or, as I would prefer to believe, people no longer understand what the term means. Assuming the best, and that the decline in R.S.V.P.’s can be attributed to ignorance and not rudeness, I will clarify this for the record.

What RSVP Means

The term R.S.V.P. comes from the French expression “rรฉpondez s’il vous plaรฎt”, meaning “please respond”. If R.S.V.P. is written on an invitation it means the invited guest must tell the host whether or not they plan to attend the party. It does not mean to respond only if you’re coming, and it does not mean respond only if you’re not coming (the expression “regrets only” is reserved for that instance). It means the host needs a definite head count for the planned event, and needs it by the date specified on the invitation.

For more details : Click Here

njoi,
Kurt ๐Ÿ˜€

P.S.: For those who dont understand y this post was created.
Please treat it as Just Another Post

  1. Snehal
    November 23, 2006 at 11:00 am

    I guess u really pissed off @ GE for not letting u into their premises. I dont think nehing else can justify the thought process u put in to come up with this post ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Snehal
    November 23, 2006 at 11:01 am

    or is it the chain mails mails goin on by apne prabhuji pleading with every1 to reply back

  3. November 23, 2006 at 12:00 pm

    #Snehal

    Dude, you guessed it wrong…
    Actually for our AGM thing, they have printed by name behind the passes…
    And have written RSVP: My name & my no.

    its just for information’s sake. nothing else.
    I myself didn’t know wht RSVP meant b4 today… ๐Ÿ˜€

    njoi,
    Kurt

  4. November 23, 2006 at 12:02 pm

    # Snehal

    Btw congrats for the Pole position, its usually HP who comes first on my blog…
    Good to see some competition on my blog

    njoi,
    Kurt

  5. HP
    November 24, 2006 at 3:52 am

    @Kurt,

    I guessed why you made this post before you gave the explanation to Snehal ๐Ÿ˜€

    Cheers,
    HP

  6. November 24, 2006 at 4:04 am

    # HP
    You guessed it coz u had the AGM pass in ur hand… or had look @ any of urs frenz passes.. rite??

    waise bhi aap toh antar yaami ho…

    njoi,
    Kurt

  7. HP
    November 24, 2006 at 5:46 am

    Yep..I saw your name on the back of the AGM pass ๐Ÿ˜€

    But, I did know what RSVP meant ๐Ÿ™‚

    Cheers,
    HP

  8. November 24, 2006 at 6:19 am

    # HP

    Good tht u know abt RSVP, i know RHCP… ๐Ÿ˜€
    I toh didn’t even know tht my name was printed on the passes, unless i saw the AGM pass… ๐Ÿ™‚

    njoi,
    Kurt

  9. HP
    November 24, 2006 at 11:37 am

    WTF!
    They printed your name without telling you…Thats great ๐Ÿ™‚

    btw, Anyone called to confirm that they are coming?

    Cheers,
    HP

  10. November 27, 2006 at 6:03 am

    #Kurt ..

    RSVP … i never knew abt it ..
    Thx .. ๐Ÿ™‚ ..

    Chow,
    Abhi.

  11. November 27, 2006 at 12:41 pm

    # HP

    Yeah man, they send it for printing & then called me up n informed me… :X

    # Abhi

    No probs…
    Even i didn’t know abt it… ๐Ÿ˜€

    njoi,
    Kurt

  12. October 2, 2007 at 10:55 pm

    Want to start your private office arms race right now?

    I just got my own USB rocket launcher ๐Ÿ™‚ Awsome thing.

    Plug into your computer and you got a remote controlled office missile launcher with 360 degrees horizontal and 45 degree vertival rotation with a range of more than 6 meters – which gives you a coverage of 113 square meters round your workplace.
    You can get the gadget here: http://tinyurl.com/2qul3c

    Check out the video they have on the page.

    Cheers

    Marko Fando

  13. Lun
    August 7, 2009 at 8:38 pm

    Whats “Antar-Yaami”?

  14. March 7, 2014 at 10:18 am

    I was suggested this blog by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as no
    one else know such detailed about my difficulty.

    You’re wonderful! Thanks!

  15. May 28, 2016 at 2:35 am
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

